STC Teaching Award: The STC Teaching Award recognizes the exceptional undergraduate instructors of student taught courses at Rice. The process for determining the two winners of the STC Teaching Award was developed by the Center for Teaching Excellence's (CTE) undergraduate advisory board. The winner is selected by a committee composed of two CTE faculty fellows and previous George R. Brown Teaching Award winners. Selection criteria are based on a class observation completed by a CTE graduate fellow, a review of instructional materials and student evaluations.

Graduate Teaching Awards: Developed by the CTE, Graduate Teaching Awards recognize graduate students who excelled at supporting undergraduate teaching at Rice as instructors of record and teaching assistants. Each year, four winners are selected by committees composed of CTE graduate liaisons, CTE graduate fellows and CTE faculty fellows in the following categories: independent instruction, course support and student support. The winners are selected based on their teaching philosophy, use of research-based methods and contribution to student learning. In order to apply for the course support award, graduate students have to be first nominated by a faculty instructor. Applicants for the student support award are asked to submit references from one undergraduate student.

**Sarah A. Burnett Teaching Prize in the Social Sciences:** The Sarah A. Burnett Teaching Prize in Social Sciences is awarded to the faculty member(s) with the highest teaching scores in the previous academic year. The faculty member must have taught at least two undergraduate courses with a minimum of 15 students, with at least one being a lecture course.

Sarofim Professor for Distinguished Teaching in the Humanities: The Allison Sarofim Distinguished Teaching Professorship in the Humanities originated in the early 1990s. The award recognizes a kind of teaching that is important but seldom recognized: mentors of undergraduate theses or similar scale projects, graduate students' directed readings or dissertations. The award recognizes this kind of one-on-one mentorship in the context of overall strong teaching in all the faculty member's regular courses. The award is open to any professorial rank.

**Graduate Liberal Studies John Freeman Awards:** The purpose of the Graduate Liberal Studies John Freeman Faculty Teaching and Faculty Mentoring Awards is to annually recognize two outstanding GLS faculty who make significant contributions to the program or in the service of its students. Awardees exemplify the qualities of interdisciplinary liberal arts teaching and have participated significantly in teaching or advising graduate liberal studies students.

Award for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Engineering: The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes continued excellence in teaching and exemplary commitment to the education of undergraduate or graduate students within the School of Engineering.

**Teaching Award for Excellence in Inquiry-Based Learning:** To bring attention to the efforts across campus to scaffold inquiry and research into the curriculum, this award recognizes faculty who demonstrate excellence in the use of inquiry-based learning pedagogies in undergraduate teaching. Criteria for selection include innovation and risk-taking, implementation of research-based practices, student evaluations and comments, and a peer nomination letter. The winning

faculty member receives \$1,500 directly and an additional \$1,500 in a university fund for use in enhancing inquiry-based learning.

Sophia Meyer Farb Prize for Teaching (Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Award): Each year, the Rice chapter (Beta of Texas) of the national Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society recognizes a nontenured assistant professor or assistant teaching professor for outstanding teaching performance. An ad hoc committee of the general membership selects the winner after a review of the student evaluations of all eligible faculty, and the winner is invited to give a short speech at the spring induction ceremony. The award also includes an honorarium supported by the Sophia M. Farb Family Phi Beta Kappa Fund. The award was established in the 1970s by Rice alumnus Aubrey Farb '42; a list of past winners can be found here.